Thank You Blizzard!

1 Oct

I was on the PTR the other day, looking over all the coming changes, and I have to say, I am very impressed.  With Wrath, and all the complexity of stats, talents, and priorities, I have been feeling somewhat inadequate as a DPS. 

First off, I would like to commend Blizzard for making the talent trees smaller, so you can only put in about 35 talent points into a tree.  To me, this looks like it will be harder to screw up talent builds, and PvP talents look like they’re fairly easy to pick out now, compared to how they are on live right now.  I’m sure we’ve all seen the 71-point talent specs, and how these poor folks think they have it right, since they have all of their talents in the “proper” tree.  One downside to the smaller trees is that I can see some people getting upset that they can’t have their own unique, special build that does exactly what they want.  There’s nothing wrong with choice, but if you’re doing any content at max level, you don’t really have much of a choice as it is.  Following that, I almost wonder if we should just do away with talent specs all together, if we have to take virtually all the talents in one tree, should we just have a “spec select” button, and then all the abilities and bonuses are included.  Maybe we’ll see something like this in the next expansion after Cataclysm.

I’m also looking forward to the simplification of stats that’s supposed to be coming.  On live right now, it feels like I need a doctorate in advanced math to figure out what I need to be gemming, enchanting, and speccing.  I hope Blizzard is serious with wanting to simplify things for most of us out there.  I’m sorry if you’re one of  those people who enjoys theorycrafting out the wazoo, but I believe you’re in the minority.

In short, I’m excited for Cataclysm, and can’t wait for it to come out.  Two major changes that have me especially pumped are the hunters going to focus, and warlocks getting a new soul-shard system.  Healing seems to be very back and forth on whether it’s going to be great or horrible, but I’m sure it’ll land somewhere in the middle.

What are your thoughts on the new talent trees?  What are you looking forward to, or dreading?

Falross

Leave a Reply

