Who’s to blame?

18 Aug

I’m giving serious thought to coming back in the next few weeks.  As usual when I leave WoW for burnout, I swear I’m done with the game (you think I’d know better than that by now).  Thankfully I’ve never done anything as final as deleting characters, giving my gold away, or anything like that.  I’ve come to terms with the fact that I’ll probably be playing WoW off and on until they shut off the servers.

Now you may be wondering why someone who has fought free would want to come back to WoW (maybe not if you’re reading this blog :P)?  Well, let’s line up the suspects and go through it.

My desk calendar

I bought a desk calander for 2010, one of those tear-off the page kind,  and it’s all about WoW.  It just sits there on my desk taunting me every day with a new screenshot of the game that I just can’t quite get over.  I’m surprised that I haven’t thrown it in a drawer, since I haven’t played since April.

My coworkers

I have a couple of guys at work that talk a lot about WoW, and they keep giving me the play-by-play of what’s going on in their raids and the game in general.  Not sure if this is a good thing or not, but I’m sure it’s stopped WoW from dropping too far off my radar.

WoW is still on my hard drive

This is perhaps the most damning thing yet.  But I hate downloading large game clients, and patches for said clients, so I guess this is more out of laziness than anything else.  Not a big deal, since I’m not hurting for space, and I figured I’d be back some day.

I’ll be back in Azeroth soon, and I’m looking forward to it again.  I just have to accept that I’ll probably be playing WoW until they shut the servers off.  Who knows, I might even go find a private server when that happens.  But I’m sure Blizzard will have a new shiny by then that will suck up my life, like WoW has.

Leave a Reply

