Musings

3 Sep

I’ve noticed that when I hit a milestone or try to decide which of my alts or mains to play, I have a couple good experiences, and then decide this is how it’s going to be going forward.  Then, a short time later, the RNG swings the other way, and I wonder if Fate has it out for me.

In the latest iteration of this, I had decided that I want to push to get my druid up to 80, since insta-queues are the way to go after praying for handouts as an unconnected DPS trolling trade chat and LFD.  Once I hit 58 I made my way to Outlands, and jumped into the queue for random BC dungeons.  Now before this, I found that I was spending up to 15 mins in the queue for old-world dungeons as a healer, and even sometimes getting into groups as DPS.  I was expecting this trend to continue more or less until Northrend.  However, once I was in the BC random queue, I got the window telling me that my group was ready almost instantly.  “Now that’s more like it”  I thought to myself as I zoned into Hellfire Ramparts for the first time in a while (most of my alts haven’t made it to Outlands yet).  I was blessed with a great group, good tank, sensible DPS, and I wasn’t overwhelmed keeping everyone alive.  We breezed through in 15 minutes or so, and ran it again right after.  After that I had to log  off.

I wish I had the schedule that allowed me to keep playing when things are going well, so I don’t feel as though I have to play when things aren’t going well.

Now, after the first few great groups, the pendulum has swung hard the other way.  I can deal with 1 clueless person in a group, but lately, it seems to be 2-3 morons in a group who are either trying to annoy the rest of us, don’t realize what they are doing, or just don’t care.

I strongly suspect this has a lot to do with the fact Death Knights start at 55, and are 58ish by the time they join the rest of us in Azeroth.  Coupled with the fact that they can (at later levels anyways) tank, and that queue times are non-existent for tanks, you get a lot of people queueing as tanks who either don’t intend to tank, or expect to learn as they go in Outlands.  I suspect a lot of these people are just avoiding queues, since from what I’ve read, you don’t get many of your tanking abilities until the mid-60s. 

Then again, I have seen warriors and paladins who queue as a tank, and have no clue what they’re doing.  Maybe it’s just queue-jumping.  I’m surprised at how many healers and tanks don’t seem to care about their reputation in-game.  Sure, with LFD you have a much larger pool of people to draw from, so eventually you’ll piss off enough people so you won’t be enjoying that instant queue that probably made you roll a tank or healer in the first place.  Good luck finding a guild at that point as well.

Well, I suppose that’s enough of a rant for now.

Falross

2 Responses to “Musings”

  1. Zuggzugg September 18, 2010 at 4:38 pm #

    It’s most definately Queue Jumping my friend!
    I’ve seen it myself many times, heck even today my Holydin was queued as ret, as I’ve had enough healing for the time being, just after a few badgers for my Retribution set, and we had a Druid listed as tank in full Boomkin gear :/

    When asked if he had a feral offspec his reply:
    “No – I’m Boom or Resto – you’re a paladin – you tank it!”
    Then he proceeded to turn into a chicken!

    • Falross September 18, 2010 at 9:29 pm #

      Yeah I expect you’re right.

      Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

